Teaching Really Sucks


Is this you?

I'M LOSING MY FRIGGIN MIND!

I am a teacher. I mean I was a teacher.  For over ten years I was “sold” on the idea that I was truly helping society. I was a do-gooder.  A super hero.  Let me tell you teacher—It’s a bunch of baloney.

It is a fact that school districts are recruiting the “C” students from universities.  Oh, so that’s why your co-workers are idiots!  Know many teachers that sit at their desks and read the newspaper?  Play computer solitaire?

Yes. Human resources thinks you (teachers) are “C” students with terrible math skills .  You can’t figure out you are being totally ripped off financially.  Didn’t you wonder why the secretary treats you like crap when you ask for a copy?  She probably earns more money than you!

Do you know it is a fact that in most school districts, a Master’s Degree (average price tag 20,000$) will earn you a whopping $500 per year.  If you are an intelligent human being, you know the math just doesn’t add up.

I got out of teaching and sat on my butt for about six months, just coming down off of the stress associated with the job.  Many young people and older people have dreams of having a class like “To Sir with Love”.  If you haven’t seen this film, rent it now and know that what was “bad” for 1967 is nothing compared to the urban classrooms in the United States today.

I searched on the net to find an outlet for the pain I was suffering and found little information on what I call “teacher abuse” or hostile work environments on campus.

However, I firmly believe that it is a common aspect of many schools nationwide.

Please post or write here if you want to vent, have questions, or want feedback from someone who is brutally honest about the profession.

Sincerely,

Ms.Flynn

4 responses to “Teaching Really Sucks

  1. After taking six months off, what do you do now? Professional blogger?

  2. My H.S. teaching job is fascinating because the experience is so spectacularly AWFUL! I’m abused every day by my students in every way imaginable. I had my 1st evaluation last week. The A.P. didn’t attend the hour I had chosen. I had scheduled a quiz for that day in that particular class. I expected it to take them most of the hour, but these “struggling learners” blew off most of the questions and were done in less than 15 minutes. Crap! I threw something together but it was total B.S. My meeting with the AP has not happened yet, but I’m going to be roasted alive. They’ll probably ask me to leave. In a way, I’m relieved. The kids call me faggot, nigger, asshole, etc. They throw things at me, at each other, etc. They listen only to their Ipods, text on their cellphones, and generally behave as if I owe them no less than an “A.” If they receive a less than stellar grade on an assessment, they throw a fit and blame me for their poor performance. I am expected to provide a pencil, paper, tissue, band-aids, hand sanitizer, paper towels, etc. WTF!!!!????!!!! My paycheck is an insult to paychecks! I can’t afford all that shit! Oh, and their sense of esteem? LOL!!!! If I say anything that even hints they might not be suitable for post-secondary education or that they may want to look into a more realistic line of work rather than an entertainer, millionaire DJ/Rapper, professional athlete, world-renowned cardiologist, lawyer, FBI profiler, etc they accuse me of: racism, sexism, communism (!), bad teaching, “You’re just a teacher…..” Fuck this shit!!!

  3. Ms. Flynn. I read your posting and nearly cried! I am right now, after 16 years of teaching. where you were at the end of 10. I teach an elective skill set that has such a high demand in the “real world.” I have endured every indignity, abuse, and good old beat down that a person can endure.

    Like you, I truly thought I was making a difference. I thought I was saving the world one troubled child at a time. We did so much with students that guidance counselors and case workers said would amount to absolutely nothing. Those kids, with a little guidance, encouragement and confidence are out earning me exponentially. How does my district reward me? Layoff after layoff. How does the state thank me? They attack everything that private sector workers laugh at teachers for having: low pay, descent benefits, and a pension. Now we have even lower pay, no pension and dwindling benefits. Parents attack you, administrators only care about what is politically correct and expedient, and not one leader knows how to lead.

    Our school board has not one educator on it and our superintendent was a failure in business and a bigger failure in education. Long story short, enough is enough! I took a new job that pays roughly double the pay, and, considering the amount of time spent propping up students who don’t want to succeed, and the amount of time I spend every year doing professional development, certification updates, NCLB bull shit, work way less hours. My benefits are no better or no worse and my 401K gives me way more latitude than my pension did.

    I am so glad my children do not attend public schools any longer, Its a horrifying prospect to watch our state government hand our public schools over to private for profit charter operators. It bewilders me at how closed minded, apathetic and hands off parents have become. Most of all, I am disgusted by the complete lack of vision and backbone our educators have become in public schools. Cowards! every single one of them!

    To you I say happy life! I am walking after this year, my body and my soul does not deserve this, nor does my own family. Most importantly, my students deserve a teacher who is still living the illusion that they can change the world or that anyone really respects what they do. Forgive my poor writing, I was recruited from the private sector at a fraction of what I made. I am no writer by any means. What I used to be was a proud teacher who tried to make a difference.

Leave a Reply

